PRESIDENT: Mr Gaopalelwe Santswere, Pr.Nat.Sci

Mr Gaopalelwe Santswere, known as “GP” is a South African Nuclear Physicist with more than 10 years’ experience of Nuclear Regulatory Environment, Nuclear Safety Analysis for Nuclear Installations and Licensing of Nuclear Facilities. He has worked for highly recognized organizations such as; the South African government Department of Energy (DoE), Eskom and is currently with the South African Nuclear Energy Corporation (Necsa).  GP is also a Professional Natural Scientist registered with the South African Council for Natural and Scientific Professions (SACNASP).

Mr Santswere holds a Master Degree in Applied Radiation Science acquired from the North West University, Mafikeng Campus, and is currently a PhD Candidate.

As the President of the AYGN he also serve as:

– The National Executive Chairperson of South African Young        Nuclear Professional Society (SAYNPS),

  • – Public Relations Subcommittee Chairperson of the Nuclear Industry Association of South Africa (NIASA).
  • – Treasurer of South African Radiation Protection Association (SARPA).
  • – National Representative and Board of Director for International Youth Nuclear Congress (IYNC), which SAYNPS is an affiliate member since 2002.

GP is a very passionate, dedicated, committed and progressive advocate of Nuclear Technology Applications and its socioeconomic benefits especially for the young professionals nationally and abroad. He has written a number of opinion articles through established publications.

SECRETARY GENERAL:  Mr Raphael Chebosion Chesori

Raphael is a Kenyan B.Sc. Industrial Chemistry and M.Sc. (Eng.) Nuclear Science graduate who is currently working as a Tutorial Fellow at the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture & Technology (JKUAT). His passion for nuclear has seen him serving as a youth leader in a number of young generation networks.

This young lad is a starter and exhibit pragmatic leadership spanning over a decade years both in academic and community development arena. He is currently serving as a Tutorial Fellow at JKUAT, department of Medical Laboratory Sciences/Radiography in the College of Health Science. Apart from academics, he has first-hand experience in project planning and management having worked on various community projects with local and international NGOs.

Raphael also sits in the board of directors of a number of grassroots organizations where he serve as a technical advisor. As a member of IYNC network, he brings on board perfect linkages to engage with young professionals in nuclear science and technology in Kenya and Africa at large.

VICE PRESIDENT:  Ms Everlyne “Eve” Achieng

Everlyne Achieng who hails from Kenya is a final year medical student with keen interest in health policies and leadership. This “Doctor-in-training” is also the Co-Founder of Uthabiti which is a company that provides health care services through an APP to many people.  Eve is passionate about nuclear medicine and is certain that her contribution will (in the future) lead to a healthcare system being of a high quality everywhere and for everyone. According to Eve; the digital world is both innovative and transformative so, it is for the same reason Uthabiti was born which is to predominantly drive the influence of change in the health sector. Uthabiti APP allows patients on chronic diseases to comfortably purchase legitimate medication online and enjoy on-door deliveries with the convenience of consulting a specialized doctor.

Eve also serves as:

Innovation Chair of the International Young Nuclear Congress (IYNC).

The African Representative to the Medical Students for Social Responsibility (MSSR) which is an affiliate organisation to the International Physicians for Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW

As the Vice President of the African Young Generation in Nuclear (AYGN), Eve seeks to strengthen African National Chapters, promote training, assisting governments to plan their programs while building partnerships with established world nuclear organisations.


 TREASURE:  Mr Mbuyiseni Gedion Nkosi

Mbuyiseni is Nuclear Safeguards Inspector at the South African Nuclear Energy Corporation (Necsa) and has seven years of experience in the industry. For seven months, he was based at the Department of Energy where he contributed towards drafting of the Money Bill for the establishment of the Board of the National Radioactive Waste Disposal Institute (NRWADI). Mbuyisen have also spent his two years in the research and development where he worked on the corrosion of zirconium alloys in various environments. He was also involved in the development of a database for a nuclear forensic library for continuous nuclear safety as well as safeguarding of nuclear material in South Africa as a safeguards inspector.

Mbuyiseni is currently in second three-year term as the Secretary General of the South African Young Nuclear Professionals Society (SAYNPS).